forgotten school supplies

2015 10 5 image Flo

Uh, oh, no post on school supplies before school started so maybe you forgot some things? Never fear. Last year’s post is still here and so are these new links! (Like Flo’s awesome doll pencils above – click on the image or visit Say Hello to My Little Friends blog today!)

Backpack (felt) http://www.debraquartermain.com/ceoblog/view/1088/backpack_for_mckayla
Books http://www.americangirlideas.com/american-girl-books-tutorial/
Clipboard http://www.americangirlideas.com/american-girl-clipboard/
Colored Pencils http://allthingsdollcreations.blogspot.com/2014/11/first-doll-craft-make-your-dolls.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+AllThingsDoll+%28All+Things+Doll%29
File Folders http://www.doll-it-up.com/getting-ready-for-school-file-folders/
Glitter Pencil http://funwithagfan.blogspot.com/2014/07/back-to-school-craft-make-glitter.html
Journal http://www.americangirlinspired.blogspot.com/2014/08/make-doll-journal.html
Pencil http://sayhellotomylittlefriends.wordpress.com/2014/08/02/back-to-school-how-to-make-a-pencil-for-18-inch-dolls/
Pencil Holder http://funwithagfan.blogspot.com/search?updated-max=2014-08-24T11:57:00-07:00&max-results=10
Pocket Portfolio http://funwithagfan.blogspot.com/2014/08/craft-make-doll-sized-pocket-portfolio.html
Paintbrushes http://the-room-mom.com/2015/01/24/american-girl-art-gallery/
Palette http://the-room-mom.com/2015/01/24/american-girl-art-gallery/
Sharpie Marker http://funwithagfan.blogspot.com/2014/12/craft-make-doll-sized-sharpie-for-your.html

Shout out any broken or new links below!

school scenes

Are your dollies back into the swing of school?  All their supplies ready?

Check out these cool links for scenic inspiration!

school scenes

Art Room http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GXkSbMsoEoM 
Classroom http://dolldiaries.com/doll-play-day-85-make-a-classroom-for-your-dolls/ 
Science Set http://agdollplay.blogspot.com/2013/11/doll-craft-make-your-dolls-science-set.html 

Don’t forget the accessories!

Artist Easel http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eruxo2ZUCZc
Easel http://agdollplay.blogspot.com/2013/01/doll-craft-making-saiges-easel.html 
Feather Pen http://dolldiaries.com/doll-craft-a-doll-sized-feather-pen-and-inkwell/ 
Inkwell http://dolldiaries.com/doll-craft-a-doll-sized-feather-pen-and-inkwell/
Binoculars http://www.makingfriends.com/scouts/swap_binoculars.htm 
Butterfly Life Cycle Display http://dolldiaries.com/make-a-butterfly-life-cycle-display-for-your-dolls/ 
Rock Collection http://dolldiaries.com/camp-doll-diaries-fun-with-geology-and-a-rock-collection/ 
Science Fair Ribbons http://dolldiaries.com/set-up-your-own-doll-sized-scince-fair-play-set-and-ribbon-award-craft/ 
Science Set http://agdollplay.blogspot.com/2013/11/doll-craft-make-your-dolls-science-set.html 
Telescope http://dolldiaries.com/science-stars-week-lets-make-a-telescope/ 
Volcano School Presentation http://dolldiaries.com/create-your-own-doll-sized-science-presentation-on-volcanoes/ 

back in the swing

gymnastics from twoityourself

When I was younger, back to school also always meant back to gym team.  I loved swinging away on the high bar so much I often came back with hips covered in bruises from tricks on with the low bar.  Thankfully, dollies don’t bruise…(and I healed quickly enough to keep doing it while I loved it).

Nonna

Here are some things to get you ready to practice!

Leotard – Long Sleeve http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2013/11/leotard-with-sleeves-for-american-girl.html
Leotard – Short Sleeve http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2013/01/leotard-swimsuit-for-american-girl-doll.html
Leotard (no sew) http://www.americangirlideas.com/american-girl-gymnastics-leotard-tutorial/
Balance Beam  http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2013/01/balance-beam-for-american-girl-doll.html
Balance Beam http://www.virginiasweetpea.com/2013/01/american-girl-knock-off-balance-beam-how-to.html
Cheese Mat http://www.americangirlideas.com/make-american-girl-doll-cheese-mat-gymnastics-series-part-5/
Gymnastics Grips http://dolldiaries.com/doll-play-day-94-make-gymnastics-grips-for-your-doll/
Gymnastics Mat http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2013/10/gymnastics-mat-for-american-girl-doll.html
Gymnastics Spring Board http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2013/10/gymnastics-spring-board-for-american_3.html
High Bar http://www.americangirlideas.com/make-american-girl-doll-high-bar-gymnastics-series-part-4/
High Beam http://www.americangirlideas.com/make-american-girl-doll-high-beam-gymnastics-series-part-3/
Practice Beam http://www.americangirlideas.com/make-american-girl-balance-beam-gymnastics-series-part-2/
Uneven Bars http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2013/01/uneven-bars-for-american-girl-doll.html
Uneven Bars http://www.twoityourself.com/2013/12/diy-american-girl-gymnastics-bar.html
Rhythmic Gymnastics Hoop 1 http://sewcraftymommy.blogspot.com/2012/08/american-girl-gymnastics-accessories.html
Rhythmic Gymnastics Hoop 2 http://www.realcoake.com/2013/04/american-girl-crafts-gymnastic-hoop.html
Rhythmic Gymnastics Ribbon 1 http://sewcraftymommy.blogspot.com/2012/08/american-girl-gymnastics-accessories.html
Rhythmic Gymnastics Ribbon 2 http://thefrugalgirls.com/2013/07/american-girl-doll-craft.html

dollie tech

iphone agcraftsandmore

Dolly need some tech for back to school?  Mom finally splurge on a cell phone (above printable from agcraftsandmore blogspot)? Time for a new PC?

Here are few links to keep your dollies ready for the future.

Alarm Clock http://agcraftsandmore.blogspot.com/2012/11/ag-printable-crafts-for-your-doll.html
Desktop Computer Keyboard http://funwithagfan.blogspot.com/2014/06/craft-make-desktop-computer-part-1.html?m=1
Desktop Computer Monitor http://funwithagfan.blogspot.com/2014/06/craft-make-doll-sized-desktop-computer.html
Desktop Computer Mouse http://funwithagfan.blogspot.com/2014/06/craft-make-doll-sized-desktop-computer_9.html
iPhone http://agcraftsandmore.blogspot.com/2012/11/ag-printable-crafts-for-your-doll.html
MacBook http://agcraftsandmore.blogspot.com/2012/11/ag-printable-crafts-for-your-doll.html
VCR http://agcraftsandmore.blogspot.com/2012/11/ag-printable-crafts-for-your-doll.html
Portable Video Game Console (DS) http://agcraftsandmore.blogspot.com/2012/11/ag-printable-crafts-for-your-doll.html

back to school – CARRY IT IN STYLE!

ego bag gina's craft corner

This is such a cool repurposed bag from lost purpose (trash!) items from Gina’s Craft Corner that your dollies are gonna flip!

Other cool book carriers …

Backpack http://adollforallseasons.blogspot.com/2011/10/september-how-to-make-backpack-and.html?m=1
Backpack (small) http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2013/05/small-backpack-for-american-girl-doll.html
Craft Bag http://www.doll-it-up.com/make-a-duct-tape-craft-bag-for-dolls/
Craft Bag Accessories http://www.doll-it-up.com/ideas-for-doll-size-craft-accessories/
Duffle Bag http://obsessivelystitching.blogspot.com/2010/09/dollar-dolly-duffel-bag-tutorial.html
Eco Bag http://www.ginascraftcorner.blogspot.com/2013/10/eco-bag-for-18-doll-using-fused-plastic.html
Pencils and Pencil Case http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2013/08/pencils-and-case-for-american-girl-doll.html

Let’s not forget lunch!

bento box dd

Anna contributed this awesome bento box lunch to Doll DIaries and our dollies are so glad she did!  Dollar stores often feature small plastic containers totally suitable for bento box lunches.  Old style metal lunch boxes can often be found in candy sections or as Christmas ornaments too.  You can also cut a paper sack down for a down sized brown bag lunch!

Drink Bottle http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2013/08/drink-bottle-for-american-girl-doll.html
Addy’s Lunch http://dolldiaries.com/doll-craft-addys-lunch-2/
Bento Box Meal http://dolldiaries.com/camp-doll-diaries-serve-a-japanese-meal/
Insulated Lunch Bag http://dolldiaries.com/doll-craft-an-insulated-lunch-bag/

back to school – BOOKS

Did your dollies do their summer reading or are they cramming it in now right before school starts?  Either way, here are a few simple book tutorials for more reading material.  An easy way to make books is to use very inexpensive small glue-edged notepads cut to size with duct tape covers.  Depending on the size notepads you find, it may be easier to cut down to size after adhering the duct tape to the cover so it doesn’t change alignment as you’re cutting.  Scrap paper (particularly from junk mail) makes great filler for books too!

???????????????????????????????

Books http://www.pixiefaire.com/blogs/doll-tips-and-tutorials/14136589-how-to-make-tiny-doll-sized-books
Bible http://funwithagfan.blogspot.com/2014/04/easy-easterchurch-doll-re-purposing.html

For more school supplies, check out these cool links!

school accessories from jenwrenne

Binder http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2013/08/binder-for-american-girl-doll.html
Braille Sheets http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2014/01/braille-writing-for-american-girl-doll.html
Bulletin Board (wall) http://www.doll-it-up.com/a-doll-size-bulletin-board-and-a-few-sewing-room-details/
Clipboard http://xoxograndma.blogspot.com/2013/10/decorative-doll-clip-boards.html
Folder http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2013/08/school-folder-for-american-girl-doll.html
Notebook http://www.americangirlfan.com/2014/04/doll-craft-make-a-notebook.html
Pencils (Mechanical) http://funwithagfan.blogspot.com/2013/08/back-to-school-series-craft2-doll.html
Pencils and Pencil Case http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2013/08/pencils-and-case-for-american-girl-doll.html
School Accessories https://jenwrenne.files.wordpress.com/2012/08/free-pattern-for-september.pdf
School Workbooks and Worksheets http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2013/08/school-books-and-work-sheets-for.html

above photos from Pixie Faire and Jen Wrenne

At what cost, Independence?

As we prepare to celebrate the Fourth of July as America’s Day of Independence from England, NPR published a great read on a man who’s dedicated his life to creating a map of the tribes, the people, who were indigenous to North America before the Europeans arrived.

TRibal map

Several maps are available for viewing and as a pdf download here:

http://tribalnationsmaps.com/

This would be an excellent addition to your classroom scenes and school play.

Independence and Freedom will always be disputed terms but I think they’ll also always be desired states.  There’s a great scene at the end of Schindler’s List where the man who has saved so many Jews from death laments from his soul about keeping his car and how many more live she could have bought with the money from his car.  I cry just thinking about that scene.

As much fun as my dolls are, I live in this world.  If you can give back, do.  If you don’t have resources to share, take care of yourself until you do – then share.  Because, dollings, we are all worth it.

Nonna