more costumes!

2015 10 5 image waiting on permission

Are your dolls celebrating Dolloween? I love the above Panda costume idea from Many Small Friends. Doesn’t she just look like she’s ready?

Aviator Goggles http://www.dollplaysa.com/detail.aspx?id=1046&c=34&sc=
Cape – Medieval Long Cape http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2014/09/medieval-cape-for-american-girl-doll.html
Cape – Superhero http://www.pixiefaire.com/blogs/doll-tips-and-tutorials/15659648-quick-last-minute-capes
Chimp Mask (printable) http://dolldiaries.com/make-a-chimp-mask-for-you-and-doll/
Draculara’s Vest http://threadedalchemy.com/2013/10/10/american-girl-sewing-monster-high-costume/
Fairy Head Wreath http://livingadollslife.blogspot.com/2013/10/htm-animal-fairy-halloween-costumes.html
Gumball Machine Costume http://www.meandmyinklings.com/index.php/2015/09/16/gumball-machine-halloween-costume/
Jack-O-Lantern Costume http://americangirlplace1234.blogspot.com/2014/10/dolloween-series-day-4-jack-o-lantern.html
Kitty Kat in Black Costume (Crochet) http://bizzycrochet.blogspot.com/2010/07/full-body-kitty-ears-shrug-closeup-tail.html
Minnie Mouse Costume http://americangirlplace1234.blogspot.com/2014/10/dollowene-series-kick-off-how-to-make.html
Panda Costume http://manysmallfriends.com/how-to-make-a-panda-costume-for-your-doll/
Pumpkin Costume (crochet) http://bizzycrochet.blogspot.ca/2010/07/pumpkin-costume-18-doll-clothes-pattern.html
Queen of Hearts dress (AG) http://jenwrenne.files.wordpress.com/2014/02/queen-of-hearts-pattern.pdf
Stuffed Animal http://livingadollslife.blogspot.com/2013/10/htm-animal-fairy-halloween-costumes.html
Super Hero Mask http://www.dollplaysa.com/detail.aspx?id=1047&c=34&sc=
Trick or Treat Bag – Pumpkin http://dolldiaries.com/trick-or-treat-bag-for-saige-the-gumball-machine-trick-or-treater/
Witch (crochet) http://bizzycrochet.blogspot.com/2010/09/fun-funky-witch-costume-ag-dolls.html

Don’t forget last year’s post with more ideas! (And the second post last year)

As always, if you find a broken link, please let me know and if you find more cool links, let all of us know and post below (especially if it’s YOUR site!)!

 

happy dolloween!

dolloween

In honor of Dolloween, here are some costumed favorites that I’ve altered in some fun old frames that you can print out for your Dolloween decorations!

Anna and Elsa attempt

Felicity attempt

Annie attempt

Halloween attempt

cat

Jordanna from JGAdventures and the Queens Treasures

All photos have been altered. Original photo sources: framesAnna and ElsaFelicityAnnie (taken from pinterest but traced to this site), Julies are from Gallery Hip.com, CatJordanna sporting an outfit from The Queen’s Treasures.

If you want to try this yourself, all I used was Word 7.  Copy one of the original framed images into Word.  Paste your doll photo after it.  While highlighting your doll image, under the Format tab, select Recolor in the Adjust section (left section) and select the sepia looking palette (or another fun one).  You can then use the Picture Shape option under the Picture Styles section (middle section) choosing an oval or rounded rectangle as appropriate.  Then right click on your image and under Text Wrapping select In Front of Text.  Your doll picture will then float over your frame picture.  Resize or crop (or both!) it to fit.  What I did next was take a print screen (at 200%) of the completed image from the print preview in Word.  I then pasted that into Paint and cropped and saved it from there ad a jpg file to have one permanently joined image.

This would be an excellent craft for upcoming holiday cards.  You can Google “framed old photographs” to find more examples of frames.

 

more dolloween

americangirldollhalloweencandybucket

Can’t get enough of Dolloween?  Me either!

A few more Dolloween crafts …

Frankenstein Doll Pillow http://dolldiaries.com/a-frankenstein-pillow-for-mckenna/
Halloween Banner http://dolldiaries.com/printable-halloween-banner-for-your-dolls/ 
Halloween Basket (plastic canvas) http://aheartfulloflove.com/american-girl-doll-halloween-candy-bucket-free-plastic-canvas-pattern/
Jack O Lantern Bucket (plastic canvas) http://aheartfulloflove.com/american-girl-doll-halloween-candy-bucket-free-plastic-canvas-pattern/ 
Rustic Broom http://dolldiaries.com/doll-craft-make-a-no-mess-rustic-broom/ 
Trick or Treat Bowl http://dolldiaries.com/doll-craft-a-doll-size-trick-or-treat-bowl/
Trick or Treat Sack http://funthreads.blogspot.ca/2011/10/tuesday-tutorial-5.html
Wizard Wand http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2013/04/harry-potter-wand-for-american-girl-doll.html

Dollie Who!

doctorwhodollies-1024x768

I can’t think of costumes without thinking of cosplay – that’s right, it’s time for Dollie Who.  Sadly, this is an underrepresented market of creativity so I might have to work on that (because I know I’m not the only AG/Who crossplayer out there!).

Here’s what I could find.  This list does include the pjs for purchase but they’re so perfect, I hope you’ll forgive me for it not being a pattern.  (How do I not have a free pj pattern link yet?)

11 Days of Dollie Who http://www.americangirlplayground.com/?s=Who&submit=Search 
My London Guy PJ Featurette http://karenmomofthreescraft.blogspot.com/2014/08/my-london-guy-pjs-great-pjs-for-boy.html
Police Box https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nr1xP6JQVrI
Mini Tardis http://www.doctorwho.tv/whats-new/article/now-its-your-turn-to-land-the-tardis

Every dollie needs her own Who poster too so why not print out this image for her? (Plenty on Google if you have another favourite doctor).

doctor_who_poster_art_a_p

Lest we forget Dolloween entirely, here are some more decorating ideas recently posted on other blogs in case you missed them:

Halloween Banner http://dolldiaries.com/printable-halloween-banner-for-your-dolls/
Haunted House Treat Box http://snickerdoodlestreet.blogspot.com/2014/10/doll-o-ween-haunted-house-printable.html

One more week to Trick or Treat!

Love you all, Dollings!

Nonna

costumes part 2

witch dress and cape

As promised . . . more costumes!

Nonna

Mermaid Tail Costume http://angrychicken.typepad.com/angry_chicken/2008/04/mermaids.html
Minion Costume http://www.pixiefaire.com/blogs/doll-tips-and-tutorials/9407251-how-to-make-minion-overalls-for-18-dolls 
Minnie Mouse Ears (felt) http://pintrestchallenge.blogspot.com/2012/03/minnie-mouse-ears-for-american-girl.html
Minnie Mouse Ears (headband) http://katiejdesigns.wordpress.com/2011/01/28/minnie-ears-how-to/
Mummy Costume http://dolldiaries.com/pink-tie-dyed-mummy-doll-costume/
Navajo Ensemble http://jenwrenne.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/navajo.pdf 
Neck Tie http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2013/05/harry-potter-tie-for-american-girl-doll.html
Neck Tie http://thesavagedolls.blogspot.com/2014/07/american-girl-doll-tie-tutorial.html
Poodle Skirt http://dolldiaries.com/diy-poodle-skirts/ 
Poodle Skirt  http://www.obseussed.com/2011/05/poodle-skirt-tutorial-for-18-inch-doll.html
Queen of Hearts dress http://jenwrenne.files.wordpress.com/2014/01/queen-of-hearts-dress.pdf 
Rag Boa Scarf http://www.dollclothespatterns.net/doll-clothes-patterns/doll-clothes-patterns-reuse-and-recycle-your-old-t-shirts
Scrub Pants http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2014/02/scrub-pants-simple-pants-for-american.html
Scrub Top http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2014/02/scrub-top-for-american-girl-doll.html 
Scrubs http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art28917.asp
Scrubs http://funthreads.blogspot.com/2011/11/tuesday-tutorial10.html
Spa Costume http://funthreads.blogspot.ca/2011/10/tuesday-tutorial-4.html 
Wings (people sized tutorial) http://www.craftster.org/forum/index.php?topic=60297#axzz31EqtQfAe 
Witch Cape http://funthreads.blogspot.ca/2011/10/tuesday-tutorial-5.html
Witch Costume (dress) http://funthreads.blogspot.ca/2011/10/tuesday-tutorial-5.html 
Witch Costume (dress) http://www.twoityourself.com/2013/10/diy-american-girl-halloween-outfits.html
Witch Hat http://funthreads.blogspot.ca/2011/10/tuesday-tutorial-5.html
Witch Outfit http://funthreads.blogspot.com/2011/10/tuesday-tutorial-5.html 

costumes part 1

hula

Dolloween is approaching fast!

Get ready with these fun costumes and accessories!  (more to post on Friday)

Nonna

(Halloween) Mask http://funthreads.blogspot.ca/2011/10/tuesday-tutorial-5.html
Angry Bird Costumes http://dolldiaries.com/doll-craft-angry-birds-costumes-for-dolls/ 
Animal Costume http://jenwrenne.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/halloween-animal.pdf 
Black Cat Costume http://www.laurakellydesigns.com/laurakellydesignsblog/index.php/2013/10/27/a-purrrrfect-halloween-black-cat-costume/ 
Bow Scarf (crochet with matching for girls) http://www.domesticblisssquared.com/2013/12/matching-american-girl-doll-bow-scarf.html#more
Bumblebee Costume http://www.18inchdollclothesz.com/blog/bumble-bee-and-ladybug-costume-for-american-girl-dolls.htm 
Cabbage Patch Kid Doll Wig (crochet) http://laceandwhimsy.blogspot.ca/2014/01/cabbage-patch-doll-hair-hat-wig-free.html
Candy Corn Costume (dress) http://www.twoityourself.com/2013/10/diy-american-girl-halloween-outfits.html
Candy Corn Dress http://www.dianarambles.com/2013/09/american-girl-doll-candy-corn-dress.html 
Dance Costume http://www.susankramer.com/dolls10.html
Dance Outfit http://funthreads.blogspot.com/2012/09/18-inch-doll-dance-outfit-tutorial.html 
Fairy Wings http://myfroggystuff.blogspot.com/2013/10/how-to-make-doll-fairy-wings.html
Fingerless Gloves (knit) http://kathleen-dakotadreams.blogspot.ca/2010/06/freebie-friday-v-neck-cardigan-and.html
Flower Tiara/Crown http://funwithagfan.blogspot.com/2014/05/craft-make-doll-sized-flower-tiara-crown.html
Ghost (No Sew http://dolldiaries.com/doll-craft-two-no-sew-doll-halloween-costumes/ 
Good Witch Costume http://www.simplesimonandco.com/2013/10/handmade-halloween-because-dolls-need-costumes-too-right.html 
Gumball Machine Costume http://dolldiaries.com/doll-craft-two-no-sew-doll-halloween-costumes/ 
Halloween Casual Outfit http://dolldiaries.com/diy-halloween-outfit-inspired-by-american-girl/ 
Harry Potter Robe http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2013/05/harry-potter-robe-for-american-girl-doll.html
Harry Potter Skirt http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2013/05/harry-potter-skirt-for-american-girl.html
Hippie Costume http://funthreads.blogspot.com/2012/08/doll-hippie-pants-and-top.html 
Hula Outfit http://thedisorganizedmomhomeschools.blogspot.com/2012/05/hula-outfit-for-american-girl-dolls.html
Kimono  http://jenwrenne.files.wordpress.com/2013/02/free-pattern-for-february-kimono-geta-obi.pdf
Ladybug Costume http://dolldiaries.com/saiges-halloween-ladybug-costume/ 
Ladybug Costume http://www.18inchdollclothesz.com/blog/bumble-bee-and-ladybug-costume-for-american-girl-dolls.html