my kingdom for a house

Ok, maybe not my kingdom but I have seen a lot of posts on my facebook doll groups recently with the houses they made for Christmas this year. Here’s one I spotted from the day after Christmas on youtube:

Jamirayvitange youtube

Click the image to link to the youtube video from Jami Ray Vintage. This house is made mostly of pallets. How cool is that? Plus, it looks awesome.

Here are the other houses and rooms I have in my spreadsheet. Do you have any more or want to share your own here? Let me know!

AG Dollhouse Tutorial http://www.americangirlideas.com/american-girl-dollhouse-tutorial/ 
Akeelah1998 Dollhouse https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UkJ9jGebYVo
All Dolled Up Dollhouse http://www.alldolledup-dollclothes.com/my-doll-house.html 
Amazing AG Doll House (aka Sheila’s house) http://agdollplay.blogspot.com/2013/02/amazing-american-girl-doll-house.html 
American Custom Dollhouses http://americancustomdollhouses.com/ 
American Girl Doll house (pics only) http://www.naturalwoodworks.com/american-girl-doll-house/
American Girl Place Dollhouse Tour http://americangirlplace1234.blogspot.com/2014/09/dollhouse-tour.html
Ana White Three Story Doll House http://www.ana-white.com/2014/03/plans/three-story-american-girl-or-18-dollhouse
Brandy’s Lit Up House http://dolldiaries.com/light-up-your-dollhouse/
Build An American Girl Dollhouse http://www.buildamgirldollhouse.com/
Clue Wagon’s Cheap Dollhouse for AG Dolls http://www.cluewagon.com/2013/05/how-to-make-a-cheap-dollhouse-for-american-girl-dolls/ 
DIY AG Doll House http://www.tremendouslythrifty.com/diy-american-girl-doll-house/
DIY Budget Dollhouse http://www.meetthedubiens.com/2014/08/diy-american-girl-doll-house-on-a-budget.html
Doll Diaries Doll Houses http://dolldiaries.com/category/dollhouses/ 
IKEA hack Besta AG Doll House http://www.ikeahackers.net/2012/01/besta-american-girl-sized-doll-housetoy-car-garage.html 
Jean’s Amazing Doll House http://karenmomofthreescraft.blogspot.com/2013/11/check-out-jeans-amazing-doll-house-i-am.html 
Laundry Room http://www.americangirlideas.com/brag/doll-laundry-room/
Laundry Room http://www.americangirlideas.com/american-girl-laundry-room/
Laundry Room http://www.americangirlideas.com/brag/american-girl-laundry-room/
Life Size Doll’s Houses http://livingadollslife.blogspot.com/2012/10/ag-life-size-doll-houses.html
Lodge http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=45PvPPbloms 
Pallet Doll House https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XOYWhhMoFrU&feature=youtu.be
Portable Doll Room Tutorial by Terrie from All Dolled Up http://s440.photobucket.com/user/terriesn/library/How%20to%20make%20a%20portable%20doll%20room?sort=3&page=1 
Ranch http://beardollyandmoi.blogspot.com/2012/08/how-to-make-doll-ranch.html 
Tepee http://the-room-mom.com/2014/06/20/american-girl-camp/

 

create a quick and easy beach scene

IMG_4884b

It was rainy and wet in Pennsylvania this weekend so the girls took a break from the shop and had an indoor beach party!

On the left is Kiki, a Madame Alexander My LIfe As Hairstylist doll and on the right is Nora, a CitiToy My Life As Hairstylist doll.  They run a shop together specializing in hair!  (Remember when they did Willow’s hair?)

To make our quick scene, we used the new OG Luau set props, an old gate from a flea market, a MLA puppy, a pet store sandcastle prop (for inside a fish tank), the new OG swimsuit and the in store two piece swimsuit from AG.  The blue background is the wall in my doll room and the sand is a foam board that came like that that I found while cleaning!  It’s mottled just like sand but smooth so it doesn’t hurt the dollies.  A dish cloth serves as the perfect beach blanket!

IMG_4891b

For comparison between the MLA styles, don’t miss my shared post with The Toy Box Philosopher.
IMG_4893b

Here are the lovely ladies still in their boxes.  Kiki was bought on clearance when the CitiToy dolls arrived to replace the MAs.IMG_20140917_214649_713-1Neither Kiki or Nora have been featured in the My Doll Friday posts yet but when I do, this page will be updated with links!

Now I have to fight the urge to make a beach volleyball set … or do I?

 

what do you want to do today?

2015-04-20 image for post american-girl-art-gallery

I don’t know about you but sometimes, I just want to go out! The Room Mom‘s blog features this great Art Gallery (click image for link). Dolliramas have been popping up all over with bakeries for Grace and ice cream parlor’s for Samantha. Here are a few plus some more ideas to get you going! (If you know of more, please post them in the comments!)

Art Gallery http://the-room-mom.com/2015/01/24/american-girl-art-gallery/
Boutique http://funwithagfan.blogspot.com/2013/11/beauty-series-make-doll-boutique.html 
Candy Counter http://dolldiaries.com/create-a-doll-size-candy-counter/
Coffee Shop http://dolldiaries.com/camp-doll-diaries-create-a-doll-sized-coffee-shop-part-1/ 
Cordelia’s DIY Bakery http://dolldiaries.com/cordelias-diy-bakery/
Dress Boutique http://the-room-mom.com/2014/01/05/american-girl-dress-boutique/
Dressing Room http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=12MpRVr4C5U 
Drive in https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Us6aHuZl5qQ
Dunkin Donuts http://livingadollslife.blogspot.com/2015/03/reader-photos-diy-dunkin-donuts.html
French Bakery http://agdollplay.blogspot.com/2015/01/creating-french-bakery-of-our-own.html
Frozen Yogurt Shop http://funwithagfan.blogspot.com/2015/03/make-doll-frozen-yogurt-shop.html
General Store http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mC3jo8ntLy4 
Grace’s Bakery http://www.americangirlideas.com/make-graces-bakery/
Ice Cream Parlor http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tiazjfh7Hx4 
Ice Cream Parlor (Tyson’s) http://livingadollslife.blogspot.com/2014/09/diy-samanthas-ice-cream-parlor-how-to.html
Italian Restaurant http://cupcakesandlace.com/2013/09/11/craft-your-own-18-doll-mini-italian-restaurant-table-food/
La Patisserie http://smalldollsinabigworld.com/la-patisserie-making-graces-bakery/
La Patisserie http://livingadollslife.blogspot.com/2015/03/international-collectors-amazing-la.html
Movie Theater Lobby http://livingadollslife.blogspot.com/2015/03/reader-photos-day-at-movies.html
Pet Store http://piecesforreese.blogspot.com/search/label/how%20to%20make
Retro Diner http://funwithagfan.blogspot.com/2014/11/50s-diner-inspired-by-our- generation.html
Spa http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sgSqw3B05_8 
Sweet Sip http://dolldiaries.com/camp-doll-diaries-sweet-sip-drinks-at-camp/ 
Target Store http://dolldiaries.com/how-to-make-a-target-style-store-for-your-dolls/
Bowling Alley http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8LFdI0fedbI 

there’s no place like home

house post 2015-02-16

It’s truly amazing how many dollhouse videos there on YouTube.  Here are some links to a couple of those and several photo listings of dolly homes.  A home from Cluewagon is featured above (photo links to listing).  There are some fantastic DIY tips on this link.

Here are some more ideas:

AG Dollhouse Tutorial http://www.americangirlideas.com/american-girl-dollhouse-tutorial/ 
All Dolled Up Dollhouse http://www.alldolledup-dollclothes.com/my-doll-house.html 
Amazing AG Doll House (aka Sheila’s house) http://agdollplay.blogspot.com/2013/02/amazing-american-girl-doll-house.html
American Custom Dollhouses http://americancustomdollhouses.com/ 
Brandy’s Lit Up House http://dolldiaries.com/light-up-your-dollhouse/
Clue Wagon’s Cheap Dollhouse for AG Dolls http://www.cluewagon.com/2013/05/how-to-make-a-cheap-dollhouse-for-american-girl-dolls/ 
Doll Diaries Doll Houses http://dolldiaries.com/category/dollhouses/ 
IKEA hack Besta AG Doll House http://www.ikeahackers.net/2012/01/besta-american-girl-sized-doll-housetoy-car-garage.html 
Jean’s Amazing Doll House http://karenmomofthreescraft.blogspot.com/2013/11/check-out-jeans-amazing-doll-house-i-am.html 
Life Size Doll’s Houses http://livingadollslife.blogspot.com/2012/10/ag-life-size-doll-houses.html
Lodge http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=45PvPPbloms 
Portable Doll Room Tutorial by Terrie from All Dolled Up http://s440.photobucket.com/user/terriesn/library/How%20to%20make%20a%20portable%20doll%20room?sort=3&page=1 
Ranch http://beardollyandmoi.blogspot.com/2012/08/how-to-make-doll-ranch.html 

potty time!

potty

Before guests arrive for the holidays, be sure you have the necessaries in the Necessary Room!

Shower http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gSk-R3DaUGk
Sink (repurpose) http://funwithagfan.blogspot.com/2013/12/doll-bathroom-vanity-sink-tutorial_28.html
Toilet http://funwithagfan.blogspot.com/2014/02/craft-make-toilet-for-your-doll.html

Scrapbook paper makes excellent tiles.  There are also many printables out there for bathrooms if you have something specific in mind.

Shower Cap Idea http://www.dollclothespatterns.net/doll-clothes-patterns/does-your-doll-have-a-shower-cap-creative-ideas-for-doll-clothes-patterns
Spa Wrap (Towel) http://funthreads.blogspot.ca/2011/10/tuesday-tutorial-4.html
Bath Towel http://www.dollclothespatterns.net/doll-clothes-patterns/does-your-doll-have-a-shower-cap-creative-ideas-for-doll-clothes-patterns

Here’s a whole room idea!

Bathroom https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aF-frtSjFrQ 

horsin’ around

ranch7Someone (Living A Dolls’ Life) has been on a horse kick lately so if you’ve got a horse or you’re hoping for one for a gift this winter, here are some stirring suggestions to make your horse feel at home!

Hay Bale (fabric) http://ana-white.com/2012/12/plans/toy-hay-bales-horse-stable-american-girl-or-18quot-dolls
Hay Bale (paper) http://dolldiaries.com/doll-craft-easy-hay-bales-for-doll-sized-horses/
Horse Blanket http://myagdollcraft.blogspot.com/2014/04/reversible-horse-blanket-for-american.html
Horse Blanket (no work) http://dolldiaries.com/why-didnt-i-think-of-that-baby-bib-as-a-horse-blanket/
Horse Show Accessories http://dolldiaries.com/the-circus-is-in-town-getting-ready-for-the-circus-horse-show/
Horse Stable http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wPSi-aYAX8o
Horse Stable http://www.americangirlideas.com/how-to-build-an-american-girl-doll-horse-stable/
Stable (cardboard) http://dolldiaries.com/doll-craft-make-your-dolls-a-horse-stable/
Stable (wood 1) http://ana-white.com/2012/12/plans/horse-stables-american-girl-or-18quot-dolls
Stable (wood 2) http://beardollyandmoi.blogspot.com/2013/08/doll-stablebarn-how-to.html
Fencing http://beardollyandmoi.blogspot.com/2012/08/how-to-make-doll-ranch.html
Horse Ranch http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g9bPU7fIok0

construct it!

fairy cottage

Once upon a time, in a backyard not too far away…

DIY Apartment http://onegirlmanydolls.blogspot.com/2014/06/our-diy-dollhouse-or-rather-apartment.html
Collapsible Cardboard Clubhouse http://www.sheknows.com/parenting/articles/967135/diy-collapsible-cardboard-playhouse
Fairy Cottage (playhouse) http://jenwrenne.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/fairy-cottage.pdf
Horse Stable http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wPSi-aYAX8o
Saige’s Casa http://livingadollslife.blogspot.com/2013/02/htm-saiges-agp-casa.html

school scenes

Are your dollies back into the swing of school?  All their supplies ready?

Check out these cool links for scenic inspiration!

school scenes

Art Room http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GXkSbMsoEoM 
Classroom http://dolldiaries.com/doll-play-day-85-make-a-classroom-for-your-dolls/ 
Science Set http://agdollplay.blogspot.com/2013/11/doll-craft-make-your-dolls-science-set.html 

Don’t forget the accessories!

Artist Easel http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eruxo2ZUCZc
Easel http://agdollplay.blogspot.com/2013/01/doll-craft-making-saiges-easel.html 
Feather Pen http://dolldiaries.com/doll-craft-a-doll-sized-feather-pen-and-inkwell/ 
Inkwell http://dolldiaries.com/doll-craft-a-doll-sized-feather-pen-and-inkwell/
Binoculars http://www.makingfriends.com/scouts/swap_binoculars.htm 
Butterfly Life Cycle Display http://dolldiaries.com/make-a-butterfly-life-cycle-display-for-your-dolls/ 
Rock Collection http://dolldiaries.com/camp-doll-diaries-fun-with-geology-and-a-rock-collection/ 
Science Fair Ribbons http://dolldiaries.com/set-up-your-own-doll-sized-scince-fair-play-set-and-ribbon-award-craft/ 
Science Set http://agdollplay.blogspot.com/2013/11/doll-craft-make-your-dolls-science-set.html 
Telescope http://dolldiaries.com/science-stars-week-lets-make-a-telescope/ 
Volcano School Presentation http://dolldiaries.com/create-your-own-doll-sized-science-presentation-on-volcanoes/